GIVING AWAY BOOKS!

I also have books for trade! Check out this list!
  • ARC Review: The Secrets We Keep by Trisha Leaver
  • Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
  • Review: Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon
  • Review: Titans by Victoria Scott
  • Review: Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff

Monday, May 11, 2015

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1) by Sarah J. Maas


Today is one of those rare days where I tell myself: "Well, it looks like we've been introduced to another great author, eh?".

*spreads arms to meet the legions of fellow Sarah Maas fans*

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas
Release Date: May 5th 2015
Published by: Bloomsbury Children's
Source: Publisher (Thanks Bloomsbury!) | Bought a physical copy
Buy: Amazon | Book Depository

Summary:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

I have never, in my entire blogging life, read any of Sarah J. Maas' books. So while everyone was swooning and fangirling over her works, there is this little voice inside me wondering what the big deal was. And then I picked up a copy of A Court of Thorns and Roses and well, now I know. I really know why.

Where do I start? This is my poor attempt to put into words the magnificence that was A Court of Thorns and Roses. I realized quite a bit late into my reading that there was a touch of Beauty and the Beast in the story, but I can barely sense it because Sarah Maas just took this story to a whole new level that was wholly her own. How much of a creative mind does she have to be able to make this story as vivid and as memorable as it is?

There is Feyre, who lives for her family, hunting and doing everything she could to put food on the table and keep what's left of her once wealthy household together. I liked her for being a stubborn girl who consistently tries to be strong because she didn't want to get hurt anymore than she already does. Strong isn't the first word that comes to mind when I try to describe her, but her will to see things through and fight for what she wants made me like her. The way she can be a girl who skins a wolf, wield a bow, kill a naga and still be this vulnerable person who just wants to be loved and expresses her feelings best through colors and paints was an amazing contrast.

And then there's the men. If you see me on Twitter, I am consistently going back and forth through hitting my work table countless of times for Tamlin, and then trying to tear my hair out for Rhysand. It has been a long time since I have felt this conflicted over two different love interests. Yes, I said that. Tamlin... how do I even begin to describe you? Are you even real? (Wait, that was a rhetorical question!) He was by no means perfect, but I just loved how Sarah Maas fashioned his character to be this totally different person one expects. To be fiercely protective of his people, to laugh and smile and be powerful, compassionate, loving. To be scared and fascinated of him at the same time. And Rhys. Oh, Rhys. You just had to complicate things, huh? There are people in this novel who do not seem to be what they are at first glance and Rhys is a poster boy for that. Lethally beautiful, cunning, dark and mysterious, dangerous. He's the type of bad boy everyone is attracted to.

A Court of Thorns and Roses hosts a string of characters that are as unforgettable as the leads, like Lucien! That irritating but thoroughly entertaining mischievous friend of Tamlin who carries his own share of sorrows, Alis, even Feyre's sister, Nesta who I've come to love. All of them fit perfectly in the story, woven in to make it feel whole and complete.

I have thoroughly enjoyed reading this book so much that even though I devour page after page and at one point felt like it was never going to end, I still pushed on, thoroughly mesmerized by how rich the setting was, how each word teased my mind and urged me to imagine the colorful, bright world Sarah Maas has crafted, wanting to know more. A Court of Thorns and Roses had a perfect balance of intrigue, romance, wickedness. I love how Sarah Maas managed to inject that human struggle as shown by Feyre in the various stages of her stay in Prythia, even when she went back home, portraying delicate emotions at the right time, and putting just the right amount of amorousness in the story to tease the readers. I have been finally exposed to Sarah Maas' stunning writing and my life will never be the same. Tension filled, gripping and heart rendering, A Court of Thorns and Roses is such an unforgettable read!

Everything, as they say, felt like magic.

What a sensational start for what is shaping to be an addictive series to watch out for! I have so much love for this book that I encourage everyone to read it!

My rating:

Content (plot, story flow, character):
Yep, must read more of Sarah Maas' books! I think I just got one of the best introductions for an author. I am still in awe at how imaginative Sarah is to craft such a book, and with the kind of writing that is rich and deeply engaging? Consider me a fan from now on.

Stunning: Worthy of a Goddess' Praise!


Book Cover:
Awesome depiction of Fayre!

GIVEAWAY TIME!
Win A Court of Thorns and Roses prize pack (hardcover copy of ACOTAR + swag)!


a Rafflecopter giveaway


5 comments:

  1. I never liked the Throne of Glass series, but I've heard nothing but good things about this one! Thanks for the review-I'll definitely try and read this one day!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Give it a try! It's really good. :)

      Delete
  2. I was not there. I have been to very few book signings. We do not have many near my area.

    ReplyDelete
  3. If you're a fan at all of Sarah J. Maas, don't hesitate to pick up A Court of Thorns and Roses. You couldn't be disappointed by the more daring romance, nuanced characters, and action that's sure to set your pulse racing.

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments from my readers and fellow bookworms, and I try my best to respond to all of them. Feel free to give me a piece of your thoughts. Also, this is an award-free blog. I simply don't have the time to highlight them anymore, but thank you for thinking of my blog!

Related Posts with Thumbnails