GIVING AWAY BOOKS!

I also have books for trade! Check out this list!
  • ARC Review: Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia
  • ARC Review: The Secrets We Keep by Trisha Leaver
  • Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
  • Review: Titans by Victoria Scott
  • Review: Karmic Hearts by Jhing Bautista

Wednesday, February 18, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (155): Made You Up + Hello, I Love You

This week's WoW picks has a theme: Blue. And, well, gorgeous covers.

Just check them out below! :D

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine

Title: Made You Up by Francesca Zappia
Release Date: May 19th 2015
Published by: Greenwillow Books
Want? Add to your Goodreads list!
Summary:

Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. This is a compelling and provoking literary debut that will appeal to fans of Wes Anderson, Silver Linings Playbook, and Liar.

Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn't she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal.

Funny, provoking, and ultimately moving, this debut novel featuring the quintessential unreliable narrator will have readers turning the pages and trying to figure out what is real and what is made up.

Why I'm waiting for Made You Up:

For some reason, I am really in love with the cover of this book. I can't put it into words but after I've finished reading the summary and I looked at the cover closely, I felt like it fits the story.

What is reality and what isn't? That phrase just got me. And who is Miles? I like that I'm going to think real hard while reading this book, guessing what is real and what isn't. And I've never read the Silver Linings Playbook, but Made You Up just makes me want to read it now. There's something about Alex being an unreliable narrator that gives this book so much appeal. I need it!

Title: Hello, I Love You by Katie M. Stout
Release Date: June 9th 2015
Published by: St. Martin's Griffin
Want? Add to your Goodreads list!
Summary:

A teen escapes to a boarding school abroad and falls for a Korean pop star in this fun and fresh romantic novel in the vein of Anna and the French Kiss.

Grace Wilde is running—from the multi-million dollar mansion her record producer father bought, the famous older brother who’s topped the country music charts five years in a row, and the mother who blames her for her brother’s breakdown. Grace escapes to the farthest place from home she can think of, a boarding school in Korea, hoping for a fresh start.

She wants nothing to do with music, but when her roommate Sophie’s twin brother Jason turns out to be the newest Korean pop music superstar, Grace is thrust back into the world of fame. She can't stand Jason, whose celebrity status is only outmatched by his oversized ego, but they form a tenuous alliance for the sake of her friendship with Sophie. As the months go by and Grace adjusts to her new life in Korea, even she can't deny the sparks flying between her and the KPOP idol.

Soon, Grace realizes that her feelings for Jason threaten her promise to herself that she'll leave behind the music industry that destroyed her family. But can Grace ignore her attraction to Jason and her undeniable pull of the music she was born to write? Sweet, fun, and romantic, this young adult novel explores what it means to experience first love and discover who you really are in the process.

Why I'm waiting for Hello, I Love You:

If you've been following me for quite some time, then you know how much I love Kpop and the Korean culture and this book felt like all my dreams come true and then some. Finally, someone wrote the book I've been wanting to read for a long time!

And to mention Anna and the French Kiss (but with an Asian twist?!) is making me all the more curious about this book! I have never read any book that includes Kpop, idols / superstars, fame, the music industry like this book suggests, so I am eagerly waiting for the release of Katie's book. It's just something I need to read, both because I'm a Kpop fan and I'm an avid YA reader, and this just sounds like a really good combination I can't wait to get my hands on!

-----

So what are your WoW picks? Share them with me, please!


9 comments:

  1. Made You Up sounds like a pretty good read. I know people who suffer from all sorts of mental illnesses and I know it's really difficult for them to deal with every day stuff. They try hard though!
    Thanks for sharing :)
    Here's my WOW

    ReplyDelete
  2. Made You Up sounds very good. I'm really looking forward to reading Hello, I Love You!
    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  3. Great picks. Made You Up has such an amazing cover. It's beautiful artwork. It also sounds really good. Hello, I Love You sounds like nothing I've ever read before. I hope you enjoy these! :)
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    ReplyDelete
  4. Two great picks for this week. :) I love the covers for both + they both sound so amazing.

    -Jess

    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  5. I really try not to judge books by their covers, but these are so pretty, oh my god!

    Jen @ The Bookavid

    ReplyDelete
  6. Two great picks for this week. :) I love the covers for both + they both sound so amazing. choi chan

    ReplyDelete
  7. I'm excited about reading this book and even more so after reading your review!

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments from my readers and fellow bookworms, and I try my best to respond to all of them. Feel free to give me a piece of your thoughts. Also, this is an award-free blog. I simply don't have the time to highlight them anymore, but thank you for thinking of my blog!

Related Posts with Thumbnails